The 23rd edition of the world’s premier annual women’s volleyball tournament will be held from June 26 to August 2, 2015, with the Group 1 Finals set to take place from July 22 to 26.

FIVB World Grand Prix 2015
A total of 28 teams will participate following the successful increase in countries in 2013. The World Grand Prix featured eight teams in its debut season of 1993 and from 1995 to 2002, while 12 teams were in action in 1994 and from 2003 to 2010. Sixteen teams were involved in the 2011 and 2012 editions, and 20 in 2013.

The 28 teams have been split across 17 pools with 12 - defending champions and world No. 1 Brazil, USA, Japan, China, Russia, Italy, Serbia, the Dominican Republic, Germany, Korea, Turkey, Thailand and promoted Belgium– playing in Pools A to I while eight – Argentina, Croatia, the Netherlands, Czech Republic, Puerto Rico, Canada, Bulgaria and Poland- are in Pools J to M. Pools N to Q also includes eight teams: Kazakhstan, Algeria, Cuba, Australia, Kenya, Peru, Mexico and Colombia.

The FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix 2015 will begin on the weekend of June 26 to 28 with Group 3. The finals will take place from July 10 to 12 in Australia with the winner gaining promotion to Group 2 should they meet the promotion requirements set by the FIVB.

Group 1 and 2 matches begin a week later from July 3 to 5. Pools A to I will play round robin across three weeks of Preliminary Round action before the Finals from July 22 to 26 where six teams – the five best in the Preliminary Round ranking, the Finals host USA – will feature. 

Pools J to M will also contest three weeks of Preliminary Round action before the Final Four – featuring the three best from the Preliminary Round ranking and the host of the Final Four Poland – takes place from July 31 to August 2. 

The last ranked team after the Preliminary Round from Pools A to I could be relegated if the winner of Pools J to M can meet the promotion requirements set by the FIVB.


All the News