Group 1 Finals


Omaha – July 22 to 26

Host country: USA

USA are one of the most successful sides in the history of the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix having won the competition on five occasions. This included a superb run for the side when they won a trio of crowns from 2010 to 2012. They also won two bronze medals in 2003 and 2004 but have never finished second in the tournament.

However, confidence will be high as the country hosts the World Grand Prix Finals for the first time following their triumph during the FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Championship Italy 2014. The side picked up their first ever title last year, with Karch Kiraly – the only person in the world to win Olympic gold in both volleyball and beach volleyball – steering the side to a historical result.

They have also seen much success at continental level, winning seven NORCECA Championships, including the last two in 2011 and 2013.


Host city: Omaha

Omaha has a history of supporting volleyball with the city hosting the 2013 NORCECA Women’s Continental Championship in which the hosts captured the gold medal. The University of Nebraska in nearby Lincoln is also a perennial NCAA championship contender playing in front of 200 consecutive sellout home crowds with crowds in excess of 8,200. In addition, both Creighton University and University of Nebraska-Omaha have competitive collegiate volleyball programs that have advanced into the NCAA tournament.



The FIVB World Grand Prix Final will take place at the CenturyLink Center Omaha, which has become a mecca of top volleyball in the United States. The venue can seat 17,000 fans and hosted the 2006 and 2008 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championships with sellout crowds. It also hosted the AVCA Showcase, one of the top regular season collegiate tournaments, five times in six years (2005, 2007-2010).



All the News